Major race winners/pedigrees: Eclipse Stakes

Siyouni becomes the fifth stallion this century to sire two Eclipse winners, with Paddington in 2023 following St Mark’s Basilica two years earlier.

The others are Cape Cross (Sea The Stars in 2009 and Golden Horn in 2015), Galileo (Nathaniel in 2012 and Ulysses in 2017) Kitten’s Joy (Hawkbill in 2016 and Roaring Lion in 2019) and Dubawi (Al Khazeem in 2013 and Ghaiyyath in 2020).

Galileo is also the damsire of Ghaiyyath and St Mark’s Basilica and grandsire of Vadeni (2022).

2004 winner Refuse To Bend was Sadler’s Wells‘ second winner after Opera House in 1993. Sadler’s Wells won it himself in 1984 and sired the dam of 2019 winner Enable who?is by the 2012 winner Nathaniel.

2000 winner Giant’s Causeway is the damsire of 2016 winner Hawkbill.

2000 GIANT’S CAUSEWAY Storm Cat Mariah’s Storm Rahy
2001 MEDICEAN Machiavellian Mystic Goddess Storm Bird
2002 HAWK WING Woodman La Lorgnette Val de L’Orne
2003 FALBRAV Fairy King Regalo of The Night Slewpy
2004 REFUSE TO BEND Sadler’s Wells Market Slide Gulch
2005 ORATORIO Danehill Mahrah Vaguely Noble
2006 DAVID JUNIOR Pleasant Tap Paradise River Irish River
2007 NOTNOWCATO Inchinor Rambling Rose Cadeaux Genereux
2008 MOUNT NELSON Rock of Gibraltar Independence Selkirk
2009 SEA THE STARS Cape Cross Urban Sea Miswaki
2010 TWICE OVER Observatory Double Crossed Caerleon
2011 SO YOU THINK High Chaparral Triassic Tights
2012 NATHANIEL Galileo Magnificient Style Silver Hawk
2013 AL KAZEEM Dubawi Kazeem Darshaan
2014 MUKHADRAM Shamardal Magic Tree Timber Country
2015 GOLDEN HORN Cape Cross Fleche d’Or Dubai Destination
2016 HAWKBILL Kitten’s Joy Trensa Giant’s Causeway
2017 ULYSSES Galileo Ligero Shift Kingmambo
2018 ROARING LION Kitten’s Joy Vionnet Street Sense
2019 ENABLE Nathaniel Concentric Sadler’s Wells
2020 GHAIYYATH Dubawi Nightime Galileo
2021 ST MARK’S BASILICA Siyouni Cabaret Galileo
2022 VADENI Churchill Vaderana Monsun
2023 PADDINGTON Siyouni Modern Eagle Montjeu